This page uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear please use a Javascript enabled browser.
About Us

हमारे बारे में

The National Centre for Good Governance (NCGG) is an autonomous institute under the aegis of Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, Government of India. Its head office is at New Delhi and branch office at Mussoorie.

The NCGG has been set up to assist in bringing about governance reforms through studies, training, knowledge sharing and promotion of good ideas. It seeks to carry out policy relevant research and prepare case studies; curate training courses for civil servants from India and other developing countries; provide aplatform for sharing of existing knowledge and pro-actively seek out and develop ideas for their implementation in the government, both at the National and International Level.

The National Centre for Good Governance traces its origin to the National Institute of Administrative Research (NIAR). NIAR was set up in 1995 by the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA) the Government of India's apex training Institute for higher civil services. during its 19 years of existence it provided research and training support to the Academy in areas of public administration. NIAR was subsequently rechistened with an expanded mandate, as National Centre for Good Governance, which was inaugurated on February 24th, 2014.

The Institute

About Us


    • To be a think tank for governance & policy reforms, cutting across administrative, social, economic and financial spheres;
    • To function as a national repository on information on best practices, initiatives and methodologies that promote Good Governance, e-Governance, innovation & change management within the government;
    • To initiate and participate in action research and capacity building on various aspects of regulatory and development administration, public policy, governance and public management at National/State & local levels;
    • To advise on key issues in governance and develop synergy across various Ministries/ Departments of GoI, and State Governments;
    • To promote sharing and replication of innovative ideas and best practices in Governance;
    • To interact with national and international organizations, in and outside government, engaged in research and capacity building in the above spheres;
    • To engage in provision of consultancy services in and outside the country.

Management Committee

NCGG has a Management Committee with Secretary, Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, Government of India as the Chairperson.

Management Committee
1. Secretary, D/o Administrative Reforms &PG Chairperson(Ex-officio)
2. Secretary Coordination, Cabinet Secretariat Member (Ex-Officio)
3. SS/AS & FA (Home) Member (Ex-Officio)
Secretaries or their nominee not below the level of JS
4. D/o Personnel & Training Member (Ex-Officio)
5. D/o Rural Development Member (Ex-Officio)
6. M/o Housing and Urban Affairs Member (Ex-Officio)
7. D/o Health & Family Welfare Member (Ex-Officio)
8. D/o Higher Education Member (Ex-Officio)
9. D/o Economic Affairs Member (Ex-Officio)
10. M/o Electronic and Information Technology Member (Ex-Officio)
11. D/o Agriculture, Cooperation & FW Member (Ex-Officio)
12. Director General, NCGG Member Secretary

Governing Body

NCGG is governed by a Governing Body, under the Chairmanship of the Cabinet Secretary. The affairs of the Society are being managed under the overall superintendence, direction and control of the Governing Body. The other members include secretaries of various departments of government of India.

Governing Body
1. Cabinet Secretary Chairperson
2. Secretary,D/o Administrative Reforms & PG Vice- Chairperson
3. Secretary, D/o Personnel and Training Member
4. Secretary, D/o Rural Development Member
5. Secretary, M/o Housing and Urban Affairs Member
6. Secretary, D/o Health and Family Welfare Member
7. Secretary, D/o Higher Education Member
8. Secretary, D/o Economic Affairs Member
9. Secretary, M/o Electronic and Information Technology Member
10. Secretary, D/o Agriculture, Cooperation & FW Member
11. Academicians / Eminent Administrators / Specialist / Eminent Innovators / Heads of reputed institutes Member (5)
12. Director General, NCGG Member Secretary
Back to top